2022 Awards

Radiation Effects Steering Group Awards

Additional information regarding the Radiation Effects Committee (REC), Radiation Effects Steering Committee (RESG), past Radiation Effects Award winners, and NSREC and NPSS Awards can be found at http://ieee-npss.org/technical-committees/radiation-effects/.

2022 Radiation Effects Award

Michael Xaspos

For contributions to the understanding of space radiation environments and their interactions with microelectronics.

2022 Radiation Effects Early Achievement Award

Arto Javanainen

For contributions to radiation effects research to understand heavy ion induced degradation in Silicon Carbide Schottky diodes and leadership in the radiation effects community.

2022 Shea Award

Janet Barth

Janet L. Barth retired from NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC) in 2014. At her retirement, she served as the Chief of the Electrical Engineering Division (EED) where she was responsible for the delivery of spacecraft and instrument avionics to several of NASA’s science missions, including the Solar Dynamics Observatory, the SWIFT Burst Alert Telescope, the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter, the Global Precipitation Measurement mission, the Magnetospheric Multiscale Mission, and the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST). She also oversaw development of microwave and optical communications systems and suborbital avionics systems at the Wallops Flight Facility. Early in her career, she worked as a radiation hardness assurance engineer and developed radiation environment requirements for over 35 missions, including the Hubble Space Telescope, JWST, the Earth Observing Missions, and the NOAA Geostationary Environment Satellites. She was a member of the team that developed NASA’s systems engineering approach to radiation hardness assurance for emerging technologies.

In addition to her technical achievements, Janet was a member of the NPSS Administrative Committee from 2008 to 2022. She was the President of the NPSS from 2013 to 2014. Other roles include the Awards Committee Chair, the Liaison for Women in Engineering, and an elected member for Radiation Effects. She was the Executive Chair of the NPSS Radiation Effects Technical Committee from 2018 to 2021 and is currently the Past-chair of the Technical Committee. In 2014 she was presented with the Radiation Effects Award. She is actively involved with the IEEE Nuclear and Radiation Effects Conference (NSREC), teaching the Short Course in 1997, serving as the Guest Editor of the Transactions on Nuclear Science from 1998 to 2000, the Technical Program Chair in 2001, and the General Conference Chair in 2006. She is a regular participant in the European Radiation and its Effects on Components and Systems (RADECS) Conference.

Citation: For outstanding leadership in all realms of NPSS activity – technical contributor, conference chair, technical committee member, technical committee chair, AdCom member, president.

2022 NSREC Outstanding Conference Paper Award

Radiation-Induced Faults Propagation in Quantum Bits and Quantum Circuits

D. Oliveira, E. Auden, and P. Rech

2022 NSREC Meritorious Conference Paper Award

Fragmented High-Energy Heavy Ion Beams for Electronics Testing

R. Garcia Alia, K. Bilko, F. Cerutti, A. Coronetti, L. Esposito, S. Francesc, W. Andreas, F. Saigne

2022 NSREC Outstanding Student Paper Award

Scaling Trends for Single-Event Cross-Section for Conventional D-FF at Bulk FinFET Technology Nodes

Y. Xiong, N. Pieper, A. Feeley, B. Narasimham, D. Ball, B. Bhuva

2022 NSREC Outstanding Data Workshop Presentation Award

A Heavy-Ion Single-Event Effects Test Facility at Michigan State University

S. Lidia, T. Glasmacher, S. Kim, G. Machicoane, P. Ostroumov, A. Stolz

Radiation Effects Award
Radiation Effects Early Achievement Award

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2023 Radiation Effects Award and the 2023 Radiation Effects Early Achievement Award.

The winners of the awards will be announced Tuesday morning, July 25 at the 2023 NSREC in Kansas City, Missouri.

Cash awards and plaques will be presented at that time. Nomination forms are available electronically in PDF Format or in Microsoft Word format at http://ieee-npss.org/technical-committees/radiation-effects/.

Forms should be sent to Rubén García Alía, Senior Member-at-Large for the Radiation Effects Steering Group. Rubén can be contacted at ruben.garcia.alia@cern.ch.

Radiation Effects Award

The purpose of the Radiation Effects Award is to recognize individuals who have had a sustained history of outstanding and innovative technical and/or leadership contributions to the radiation effects community. The basis of the award is for individuals who have: (1) a substantial, long-term history of technical contributions that have had major impact on the radiation effects community. Examples include benchmark work that initiated major research and development activities or a major body of work that provided a solution to a widely recognized problem in radiation effects; and/or (2) a demonstrated long-term history of outstanding and innovative leadership contributions in support of the radiation effects community. Examples include initiation or development of innovative approaches for promoting cooperation and exchange of technical information or outstanding leadership in support of the professional development of the members of the radiation effects community.

Radiation Effects Early Achievement Award

The purpose of the Radiation Effects Early Achievement Award is to recognize an individual early in his or her career whose technical contributions and leadership have had a significant impact on the field of radiation effects. The basis of the award is for individuals whose technical contributions and leadership during the first ten years of the recipient’s career that have had a major impact on the Radiation Effects Community. Examples include work that provides a solution to important technical problems in radiation effects or work that identifies significant new issues in the field. Other factors are cumulative research contributions over the first part of the career, internationally recognized leadership, and mentorship. It is the intent of the RESG to give special consideration for this award to members of the community who are IEEE/NPSS members.